Watershed Approach to Condition Monitoring and Assessment

One of the goals of the Clean Water Legacy Act (CWLA) is to identify impaired waters and those waters in need of additional protection so as to protect, restore, and preserve the quality of Minnesota's surface waters. The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is identified in the CWLA as the state agency responsible for establishing a strategy for monitoring and assessment and identifying impaired waters under the Clean Water Act. This is accomplished through MPCA monitoring efforts and the efforts of local, state and federal agencies and citizens that also monitor the condition of Minnesota water resources. The MPCA has established a strategy and goal, recognized by the legislature and Clean Water Council, to assess the condition of Minnesota's waters via a ten year cycle. The key organizing approach used in this strategy is that of the "major," or eight digit hydrologic unit code (HUC), watershed. There are 81 major watersheds in Minnesota (see Figure 1). This document outlines the watershed approach to monitoring and explains the ten year cycle for this effort.
Date Issued
Number of Pages
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (St. Paul, Minnesota)
Publication Series
Rights Holder
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Rights Management
Public Domain