Mississippi River-Sartell Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategy Report

The Mississippi River – Sartell Watershed (MRSW) is located in central Minnesota as part of the Upper Mississippi River Basin and spans approximately 1,020 square miles. The watershed is composed of portions of Morrison, Benton, and Stearns counties and also contains smaller sections of Crow Wing, Mille Lacs, and Todd counties. The MRSW consists of 879 total river miles, and includes 43 named stream assessment units. There are 232 lakes within the watershed covering a total of 13,319 acres.Beginning in 2016, the MPCA undertook an intensive watershed monitoring (IWM) effort of the surface waters in the MRSW. Overall the biological communities found throughout the watershed are in fair to good condition.
Date Issued
Number of Pages
Corporate Author
Associated Organization
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (St. Paul, Minnesota)
Publication Series
Body of Water
Rights Holder
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Rights Management
Public Domain